2017 Awards

Video recap made by the Maryland State Bar Association

MLSC hosted its Annual Awards Reception on December 4, 2017 at the Lord Baltimore Hotel. Awards were presented by MLSC Chair Glenn Ivey and Maryland Court of Appeals Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera. The reception also celebrated MLSC’s 35th anniversary.

2017 MLSC Award Winners

Seated: Robin Leone of Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP, Sally Dworak-Fisher, Margaret Henn, Sandy Brown, Del. Kathleen Dumais, Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera. Standing: MLSC Chair Glenn Ivey, Michael Millemann, Hebert Berkow, Tom Prevas of Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP, Sen. Guy Guzzone, Del. Ben Barnes

Click here to view more photos from the reception on our Facebook page.



The Robert M. Bell Medal for Access to Justice was presented for only the fourth time since its establishment in 2004 to Michael A. Millemann, professor of law at the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law, for his decades of active involvement with access to justice initiatives as a public interest lawyer, former chief of the civil division of the Office of Attorney General, clinical law educator and a member of the first MLSC board.

Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, a member of the Maryland House of Delegates and attorney at Ethridge, Quinn, Kemp, McAuliffe, Rowan & Hartinger, received the Arthur W. Machen, Jr. Award for her significant contribution to the legal services delivery system for low-income Marylanders as vice-chair of the House Judiciary Committee and through her family law practice.

The Benjamin L. Cardin Distinguished Service Award was presented to Sally Dworak-Fisher, staff attorney at the Public Justice Center, for her tireless work and vast expertise of workplace justice.

The recipient of the Rising Star Award was Margaret K. Henn, director of the Home Preservation Project at the Pro Bono Resource Center, recognizing her leadership in managing several housing stability projects.

Two William L. Marbury Outstanding Advocate Awards were presented. Herbert N. Berkow was honored for his dedication as a volunteer mediator in the Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General. Sandra A. Brown, executive director of Mid-Shore Pro Bono, was recognized as a steadfast advocate for residents of the Eastern Shore.

Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP was named as this year’s recipient of the Herbert S. Garten Public Citizen Award for its increased commitment to access to justice through a firmwide pro bono project, pledging to give a minimum of 25 hours per attorney and partnerships with many MLSC-funded organizations.

MLSC presented Awards of Special Recognition to Delegate Benjamin S. Barnes, Senator Guy J. Guzzone and Senator Bobby A. Zirkin for their leadership in the Maryland General Assembly to help stabilize and enhance funding for MLSC.


The Corporation is pleased to acknowledge the generous contributions of the individuals and organizations that support the work of the Maryland Legal Services Corporation.

PARTNER: CFG Community Bank • Kramon & Graham, P.A. • Venable LLP
PATRON: Baker Donelson • DLA Piper LLP (US) • Fedder & Garten, P.A. • Gallagher, Evelius & Jones LLP • Iliff, Meredith, Wildberger & Brennan, PC • Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd. • Linowes & Blocher LLP • McKennon Shelton & Henn LLP • Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP
DONOR: Brown, Goldstein, & Levy, LLP • Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, P.A. •  Kay G. Kenny, Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company • Joshua and Christina Park • University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law • Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP
SPONSOR: Joseph J. Dyer, Esq. • Law Offices of Sally B. Gold • Gordon Feinblatt LLC  • Lord Baltimore Hotel • Maryland State Bar Association • Niles, Barton & Wilmer, LLP • Rosenberg Martin Greenberg, LLP • Hon. Mark F. Scurti • Summit Business Technologies • Eden O. Terenzini, Esq. • University of Baltimore School of Law • Hon. Pamela J. White
MEDIA SPONSOR: The Daily Record

Click here to view photos from the reception on our Facebook page.