2016 Awards

MLSC hosted its Annual Awards Reception on December 5, 2016 at the Lord Baltimore Hotel. Awards were presented by MLSC Chair Glenn Ivey and Maryland Court of Appeals Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera.


The Arthur W. Machen, Jr. Award was presented to Judge Karen Murphy Jensen, retired judge of the Circuit Court of Caroline County, for her leadership in helping low-income Marylanders access legal services on Maryland’s Mid-Shore and support of access to justice throughout the state. Judge Karen Murphy Jensen Receives Award
Antonia Fasanelli Receives Award
Blaine Hoffmann Receives Award
The Benjamin L. Cardin Distinguished Service Award was presented to Antonia K. Fasanelli, executive director of the Homeless Persons Representation Project, for her dedication to individual representation and system advocacy on behalf of the homeless population, and to Blaine A. Hoffmann, director of legal services of Heartly House, for his compassionate and effective representation of victims of domestic violence, sexual assault and child abuse.
The first recipient of the Rising Star Award is Amy L. Petkovsek, director of training and pro bono at Maryland Legal Aid. This new award is presented to an attorney who has practiced law for 10 years or less and has significantly contributed to expanding access to justice by serving the civil legal needs of low-income Marylanders or advancing the delivery of civil legal services. mlsc0135
mlsc0145 The William L. Marbury Outstanding Advocate Award was presented to Joan M. Bellistri, director of the Anne Arundel County Circuit Court Law Library, for her efforts to improve public access to vital legal information.
The Herbert S. Garten Public Citizen Award was given to the Enoch Pratt Free Library in recognition of its partnership with legal services organizations, hosting legal clinics and providing training for librarians throughout the state on how they can assist clients with legal research and legal answers. Pictured: Herbert S. Garten, Glenn Ivey, Gordon Krabbe, acting CEO of the Enoch Pratt Free Library, and Chief Judge Mary Ellen Barbera. mlsc0156
mlsc0168 An Award of Special Recognition was presented to Paul V. Carlin, executive director of the Maryland State Bar Association, who is retiring after more than 30 years and has been an invaluable ally and resource in support of MLSC’s initiatives to increase access to justice.
MLSC honored outgoing board members Judge Pamela White, Bernard Jennings and Nancy Sachitano (not pictured) for their service as a member of the Board of Directors. mlsc0182


The Corporation is pleased to acknowledge the generous contributions of the individuals and organizations that support the work of the Maryland Legal Services Corporation.

PARTNER: DLA Piper LLP (US) • Kramon & Graham, P.A. • Murthy Law Firm • Venable Foundation
PATRON: Brown, Goldstein & Levy, LLP •  Gallagher, Evelius & Jones LLP • Iliff, Meredith, Wildberger & Brennan, P.C. • Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chtd. • Linowes & Blocher LLP • Ober Kaler • Pessin Katz Law, P.A.
DONOR: Bodie, Dolina, Hobbs, Friddell & Grenzer, P.C. • Fedder and Garten, P.A. • Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, P.A. •  Hirschel Savitz Parker Hollman, P.C. • Kay G. Kenny, Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company • Niles, Barton & Wilmer, LLP • Joshua and Christina Park • Southern Management Corporation • Hon. Pamela J. White • Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP
SPONSOR: Joseph J. Dyer, Esq. • Law Offices of Sally B. Gold • Gordon Feinblatt LLC  • Maryland State Bar Association  • Melanie L. Shanty, Lincoln Financial Advisors • Rosenberg Martin Greenberg, LLP • Summit Business Technologies • University of Baltimore School of Law • University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law • Law Office of Marla Zide, LLC
MEDIA SPONSOR: The Daily Record

Click here to view photos from the reception on our Facebook page.